Ask not what you doctor can do for you.

1

I don’t blog about work much, but I wished to share this.

For those unfamiliar with the NHS system, this is how it works. Each UK resident is registered with a surgery, which is open from 8 AM until 630PM Monday to Friday.  Politicians of  course thinks that GP surgeries (like brothels) should be open 24 hours a day, seven days a week, but as we have families, homes, etc and are not battery powered, they can fuck right off.

I work for the out of hours service, which is open when the surgeries are closed. People contact the service if they have a medical problem that they feel cannot wait until their surgery reopens.

During a recent recent shift, I spoke to a  lady with a long history of agoraphobia and depression. She was upset because her garden gate had been vandalised by errant youths, precipitating a worsening of her mood.

I listened.
I empathised.
I asked whether she had any thoughts of harming herself.
I offered advise regarding medication and asked what support she was receiving in the community.
I asked whether she had access to the local telephone support line, or needed the number for the Samaritans.

Having done the above, I prepared to terminate the call.

“But what are you going to do about my gate?” she asked.

So what did I do? I did what any other reasonable person would have done.

I blogged about it.

About Dr Rupert Harker

I am the author of the Urban-Smith mysteries and Intelligent Design series of books.
This entry was posted in Harker health, Twogging and bleating, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ask not what you doctor can do for you.

  1. Pingback: More thank you’s and a big favour to ask. | Paranorensics – where forensics goes bump in the night

Leave a Reply

