Annual Book Review; Time Heist

Time HeistI tend to go through phases of reading, but over the last year or so, my interest in reading has waned dramatically. It was therefore something of an impulse purchase for me to download Time Heist by Anthony Vicino from Amazon;

Click on the book cover to go to the amazon.co.uk link—–>

I bought this book for three reasons.

1 I like the title. “Time Heist” conjures up images of masked robbers with plasma rifles kicking in the doors of some futuristic bank vault.

Anthony Vicino2 I like the cover – simple, but evocative. Everything I have read about self-publishing says that readers do judge a book by its cover, and I’m no exception.

3 Anthony’s avatar reminds me of Morgan Grimes from the TV series, “Chuck.”The Plot.

“The numbers on my arm said I’d be dead soon.”

So begins the 1st chapter of time vice. Time Vice is set in a dystopian World where everyone is implanted with a “tracker,” a device which counts down your remaining hours left on Earth.

Tom Mandel, former Time Vice cop is drinking his final hours away in a seedy bar before staggering home to collapse in a drug induced stupor. He awakens to discover that the man who killed his wife, mass murderer, Malcolm Wolfe has escaped from custody. Mandel vows to capture Wolfe before his time runs out.

Cue explosions, gunfights, fist fights and high-speed chases galore.

The Style.

I have always enjoyed books that are written in the 1st person. I find that it lends an air of intimacy and makes it easy to empathise with the protagonist. Anthony uses a hard-boiled noir style, harking back to the Raymond Chandler and Dashiell Hammett novels that I enjoyed as a student. The atmosphere is gritty, but the prose flows elegantly, for example,

“Seconds ticked over slowly. The air whistling past reminded me of the tide sliding along a pebble-strewn beach, on a day spent in the sun. Diana was beside me, stretched out on her towel, ivory skin exposed to the heat, glistening with the ocean breeze settling in salty droplets along her arms and shoulders.

She buried her nose in the crook of my neck, warm breath causing the hairs riding the ridge of my spine to prickle.

“What should we name her?” Diana asked with her eyes closed.”

The protagonist spends the majority of the book being beaten, bludgeoned and blown up, but I enjoy that sort of thing. Additionally, there are some interesting concepts, such as the idea of time as a commodity that can be traded or stolen, the blurring of the distinction between reality and virtual reality, and the fine line between justice and vengeance.

Verdict.

A good book, action-packed, well written and a must for fans of sci-fi noir; Raymond Chandler meets Philip K Dick. It’s not the sort of book I could read over and over, but I will certainly buy the next instalment.

Read Anthony’s blog HERE.

Buy Time Heist HERE.

About Dr Rupert Harker

I am the author of the Urban-Smith mysteries and Intelligent Design series of books.
This entry was posted in Book reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Annual Book Review; Time Heist

  1. AntVicino says:

    Reblogged this on One Lazy Robot and commented:
    Thanks to Dr. Rupert Harker for taking the time to read and review Time Heist!

    Also, there’s a better than 12 percent chance that I am indeed Morgan from Chuck. Just saying.

    Like

Leave a Reply

